Camps ad


June 2019


Individuals and businesses recognised for contributions

Industry's peak body dishes out top awards

Have your say

THE Caravanning Industry Association of Australia has recognised individuals and businesses for their contributions to the caravanning and camping industry.

The presentation of awards was one of the highlights of the industry's national conference on the Gold Coast.

Delegates from all over the country flocked to The Star Casino and Hotel for the event which comprised a packed programme of events and the opportunity to network with industry colleagues.

There were two full days of focused presentations by leading speakers, provocative concurrent sessions, an interactive trade exhibition and evening social events.

Eric Hayman Award:
Stuart Lamont

THIS award for excellence is the industry's most prestigious and is in its 28th year. It recognises extremely influential and hardworking industry leaders who have made a positive impact over the years. Mr Lamont is chief executive of the Caravan Industry Association of Australia and was instrumental in transforming two national associations ‒ the RVMAA and CRVA to form the current single Caravan Industry Association of Australia and the introduction of an elected board. As chief executive he has been instrumental in a range of important industry activities including research and funding development, RVSA advocacy, implementation of a robust compliance program, growth of the Let's Go Caravan and Camping marketing brand, the introduction of the Future Leaders Program and the incredible growth of the Caravan Industry National Conference.

Peter MayThe Richard Davis Award:
Peter May

THIS award for outstanding contribution to the peak national body was introduced in 2016 in dedication to the late Richard Davis OAM. As the then president of the Victorian Trade Association, in 2012 Mr May raised the concept of the amalgamation of then CRVA and RVMAA at an industry forum and was ridiculed by some. But he was not deterred. In October 2013 he met Mark Lindsay and Stuart Lamont at the Middle Park Hotel in Melbourne to carve out what a new organisational structure could look like. The following month Mr May represented the concept to the Industry forum with greater acceptance, and the start of the journey towards merger began. He served on the board of the then CRVA and was a strong advocate for the appointment of an independent board and the shrinking of its size. He is described as a visionary and incredibly determined in persevering with his strong beliefs in the best interest of the industry.

Amanda BaldwinCaravanCampingSales Future Leaders Award:
Amanda Baldwin

MS Baldwin has held the position of manager - strategy and acquisitions within the G'Day Group for nearly two years. She has been an integral member of the group's management team and has been leader in the acquisition of over 30 parks. She provided critical strategy direction to the board on major investment decisions. In the last 18 months Ms Baldwin has been involved in pivotal G’Day Group investment decisions such as new glamping development on Rottnest Island and the annual strategy for the group where pivotal technology investment decisions have been made. She is a chartered accountant and also holds a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance (Business Valuation).

RedarcGerry Ryan OAM Award for Innovation:

THIS year, the Caravan Industry Association of Australia was pleased to launch a new award carrying the name of Gerry Ryan OAM in recognition of his longstanding contribution to the industry and industry body. It was presented to REDARC for its Redvision Total Vehicle Management System. Redvision is a central control hub that connects electrical devices and displays vital information for a vehicle or RV on its onboard 12V accessories, setting a level of automation which brings information and control together in one place. The judges said it was designed and made in Australia, was released to market rather than in concept and is used in 4WD, campers and caravans.

Jim CarnavasChairman's Award:
Jim Carnavas

EACH year the Caravan Industry Association of Australia has the option of awarding or not awarding this tribute for service to the industry. In 2019 the decision was made to recognise an "outstanding contributor" in Mr Carnavas. In 1981, he and one of his fellow workmates bought the Jayco/CUB dealership on the corner of Rode and Gympie roads in Chermside, Brisbane. Mr Carnavas joined the Caravan Trade and Industries Association of Queensland board about 35 years ago, became president in 2001 and served for 18 terms until last year when he decided to step down. He is CTIAQ's longest serving president and is the holder of a Life Membership. In 2018 he was presented with the Ron Chapman Award for outstanding contribution and commitment by an individual to the caravan industry in Queensland.

New awards at the 2019 National Conference:

NEW People's Choice awards were presented to both caravan parks and manufacturers. They are in recognition of strong customer loyalty, business performance and organisational discipline that deliver experiences and propositions worthy of recommendation.

ReviewPro People’s Choice Caravan Park Award:
MAINTAINING outstanding online reputation is testament to caravan park operators that deliver great visitor experiences, exceptional customer service and constantly exceed their guest's expectations. The CIAA said it was "proud" to introduce its new ReviewPro People’s Choice Caravan Park Award to recognise those businesses for their outstanding effort. "Through our partnership with ReviewPro, this award is 100 percent based on the online reviews and customer feedback of all our accredited caravan parks," it said.

Bronze: BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
Silver: Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park
Gold: Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park

RVMAP People’s Choice Award Manufacturer of the Year:
THE CIAA believes that obtaining strong customer loyalty is a testament to a business’s performance and organisational discipline that delivers experiences and propositions worthy of recommendation. The new RVMAP People's Choice RV Manufacturer Award recognises those businesses that have excelled in meeting their customer's needs throughout the product delivery and the purchasing journey. This award is 100 percent based on customer feedback from over 1000 consumers across all RVMAP manufacturing businesses.

Bronze: Traveller Caravans
Silver: JB Caravans
Gold: Evernew Caravans


 No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted without
the prior written permission of Dennis Amor.

Copyright 2005 Dennis Amor
All Rights Reserved

Advertising   Kui Parks advert

Caravan Council of Australia advert