Camps ad




Raging bushfire

State of Emergency declared in Queensland

Travellers warned of total ban on outside fires as bushfires rage

Have your say

GREY nomads and other campers across 42 local government areas in Queensland have been warned not to light outdoor fires as killer bushfires continue to rage.

A State of Emergency has been declared in the Sunshine State ahead of a prediction that "significantly heightened" fire weather conditions would continue into next week.

It prohibits the lighting of all types of outdoor fires also and bans certain activities that can cause fires to ignite.

The warning comes as more than 100 vehicles and 400 firefighters battled about 50 bushfires across the state this morning.

Blazes in Queensland and NSW have already claimed three lives, injured 30 people and destroyed more than 150 homes.

"We're experiencing tinderbox-like conditions across much of the state and all it takes is one spark to start a fire that may burn for days," Queensland Fire and Emergency Services acting commissioner Mike Wassing said.

"This declaration is vital to prevent bushfires breaking out and posing a danger to lives and property."

Mr Wassing said the declaration overrode all existing permits to light fire and banned fireworks and the lighting of any outdoor cooking fires.

Offenders who ignore the warning face a fine of up to $3336 or two years imprisonment.

The declaration also prohibits welding, grinding and the use of oxy acetylene cutting or heating outdoors.

Areas with total fire bans


Gold Coast City

Ipswich City

Lockyer Valley Regional

Logan City

Scenic Rim Regional

Somerset Regional


Brisbane City

Moreton Bay Regional

Redland City


Bundaberg Regional

Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire

Fraser Coast Regional

Gympie Regional

Noosa Shire

North Burnett Regional

South Burnett Regional

Sunshine Coast Regional


Southern Downs Region

Goondiwindi Regional

Toowoomba Regional

Western Downs Regional


Banana Shire

Gladstone Regional

Rockhampton Regional

Central Highlands Regional

Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire

Livingstone Shire

Isaac Regional

Mackay Regional

Blackall Tambo Regional


Whitsunday Regional

Burdekin Shire

Townsville City

Hinchinbrook Shire

Charters Towers Regional

Flinders Shire


Cassowary Coast Regional

Tablelands Regional

Cairns Regional

Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire

Croydon Shire

Etheridge Shire


 No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted without
the prior written permission of Dennis Amor.

Copyright 2005 Dennis Amor
All Rights Reserved

Time To Roam ad  

Kui Parks advert

Caravan Council of Australia advertAdvertising